Home > Soccer > Ugly finale to MLS season

Ugly finale to MLS season


Major League Soccer

Image via Wikipedia

I had to comment on the MLS Cup finale which to me was a display of some truly ugly soccer. I consider myself to be a soccer fan and I will often watch soccer regardless of who is playing. Most of the MLS games I watched this year involved TFC and I was happy to say that TFC improved drastically over the course of the year but ended up finishing like they started and missing the play-offs again.

When I watched the final MLS game this year I was quite unfamiliar with Colorado and Dallas but it seemed that these two teams must have made it to the final not by beating the other teams but by beating up the other teams. It was one of the ugliest games I have seen in a long time and for this to be the marquee match to the end season with supposedly the 2 best teams in MLS was a shame and a mockery and a horrible way to showcase the MLS as a league trying to gain credibility. The lack of skill displayed by both teams was very apparent has it seemed like neither team was able to string together a collection of passes. The defence on both teams seemed like they were told to kick the ball as hard as they could anytime it came near them and the rest of the players must have been told to kick the other team anytime they came anywhere near them. At one point I thought I was watching Sockey and I think Brian Burke should try to draft Connor Casey as he tried to take down everything within sight. I saw a mild glimmer of hope on the first Dallas goal which was a rare moment of skill and a truly nice goal. But the game remained chippy and was capped off by 2 ugly Colorado goals which gave a fitting end to a crappy game. I was hoping for penalties as this would have been more fitting as neither team deserved to win in my eyes. Perhaps a good referee would have helped the game as this ref seemed happy to watch players kick the crap out of each other for 90 mins. And this was a ref who supposedly had a history of giving cards out like a pimp at a night club.

In the end, Colorado wins on the basis of 2 ugly goals to 1 nice goal and gives a whole new meaning to the term winning ugly!

  1. November 24, 2010 at 9:52 am

    To me the first 20 mins were great. Nice movement and passing. Then when the players realized the ref wasn’t calling anything they went CRAZY!

    Poor display of what was supposed to be the highest level of play in the MLS.

  2. smoodguru
    November 24, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    It seemed like they were playing soccer on Astro Turf with a ball that had too much air in it. And then on top of it all were trying to kill each other. Reminded me of my younger days playing indoor soccer in a hockey rink with a rug over it and boards that people tried to check you into – Brutality!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

